“Hit and Run” in Miami
If you are involved in a crash in Miami, even if no one was injured, then Florida law requires you to stop and remain at the scene. Despite the law, the number of “hit and run” crashes in Florida has remained steady over the last few years. Most people who leave the scene after a crash involving only property damage. The most serious crimes for "hit-and-run" involve personal injury, serious bodily injury or even death.
Recent statistics in Florida show that in 2015, there were more than 92,000 hit and run crashes in Florida. Last years, the Florida Highway Patrol (FHP) worked more than 23,000 of those "hit and run" cases. That same year, hit and run cases involved 19,000 injuries with over 1,200 of those involving serious bodily injury.
In 2015, more than 180 people were killed in a hit and run crash. Over one-half of the people killed were pedestrians. In 2015, Miami-Dade led all of the counties in Florida for the number of pedestrian "Hit & Run" fatalities at 22 people killed that year.
Recent statistics show that in 2015, 18 to 27-year-olds received over 33% of all hit and run citations issued. Additionally, a whopping 70% of those citations were issued to men and only 30% of the citations issued to women.
To address these problems, the Florida Highway Patrol (“FHP”) and the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (“DHSMV”) created the “Bad to Worse” campaign. The campaign is aimed at reducing the number of leaving the scene crashes in Florida by educating the public. It is important to remember that if you are involved in a crash you must stay at the scene and comply with reporting requirements. If you leave the crash scene, then serious criminal consequences can occur.
Attorney for "Hit and Run" Accidents in Miami, FL
Are the police looking for you? If you were involved in a "hit and run" crash, then it is important to realize that a criminal investigation has already begun. You have the right to remain silent and the right to have an attorney represent you at every stage of the case. Attorney E.J. Hubbs in Miami, FL, is experienced in representing clients accused of leaving the scene of an accident. Give him a call to find out what you need to do right now to protect your rights.
Attorney E.J. Hubbs in Miami, FL, is experienced in representing clients accused of leaving the scene of an accident. Give him a call to find out what you need to do right now to protect your rights.
E.J. Hubbs can contact the investigating officers to let the officer know that he is representing you and that you have invoked your right to remain silent. In many cases, this will prevent the officer from coming to your home or work to question you about the crash. He can also contact your insurance company and help you resolve any outstanding civil issues related to the crash.
Cal (305) 665-9040
today to discuss your case.
Penalties for "Hit and Run" under Florida Law
The penalties for leaving the scene in Florida depend on the damage caused by the crash. Hit and run can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony in the following ways:
- Property Damage Only with No Injury - can be charged as a second-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 60 days in jail and a $500 fine;
- Personal Injury - can be charged as a third-degree felony punishable, by 5 years in prison;
- Serious bodily injury - can be charged as a second-degree felony, punishable by 15 years in prison;
- Death or a fatality - can be charged as a first-degree felony, punishable by up to 30 years in prison (with a minimum 4 year prison);
Also, if you are convicted of any form of leaving the scene in Florida, you can lose your driver's license. In some cases, the court will impose a permanent revocation.
Hit and Run - Damage to Attended Property under Florida Law
More than 80 percent of hit and run crashes result in property damage only. In Florida, the criminal charges for leaving the scene after a crash involving only property damage depend on whether the property was "attended" or "unattended."
Damage to a vehicle or other property which is driven or attended by any person is a 2nd-degree misdemeanor punishable by up to 60 days in jail or 6 months probation.
Florida law also imposes second-degree criminal penalties for leaving the scene after a crash causing damage to unattended property which can include a parked car, fence or mailbox.
F.S. 316.027 for Felony Hit and Run Crashes - Visit the Online Sunshine website for the Florida State Legislature to learn more about crashes involving death or personal injuries in Tittle XXIII of Chapter 316 of the State Uniform Traffic Control statute. Find the definition of serious bodily injury, vulnerable road user, and “leaving the scene.”
Hit and Run News Stories in Miami, FL - Visit CBS Miami online to find out more about Hit-and-Run crashes in Miami, FL. Find out how a tip to Crime Stoppers can lead the Miami-Dade Police to suspects for crashes that happened yesterday. Find information on video and surveillance cameras, and crashes with a bicyclist, scooter, wheelchair, and motorcycles.
Traffic Homicide Unit (THU) of the Miami-Dade Police Department - The Traffic Homicide Unit of the Miami-Dade Police Department conducts follow-up investigations vehicle crashes occurring within unincorporated Miami-Dade County. Officers with the unit collect and preserve evidence from the traffic ways and vehicles inkling taking statements from witnesses, passengers, and drivers. In 2013, THU investigated 114 hit and run crashes involving injuries including 27 critical crashes and 76 fatalities. Learn more about the "Memorial Marker Program" which was created to commemorate people who died as a result of a vehicle-related accident on Miami-Dade roadways.
Driving Safety - Hit & Run - Bad to Worse - Visit the website of the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (HSMV) to learn more about the Bad to Worse campaign. Find out more about the penalties for leaving the scene of an accident resulting in death, serious bodily injury, personal injury, or damage to a vehicle or other property which is driven or attended by any person. Find out why leaving the scene can make things go from bad to worse. The Florida Highway Patrol Public Affairs Officers held five press conferences the week of February 15, 2016, to educate the public about the dangers of hit and run crashes.
Finding an Attorney for Hit and Run in Miami-Dade County
If you need a criminal defense attorney for a leaving the scene of an accident in Miami, FL, then contact E.J. Hubbs today. Whether your case involves only property damage, or felony allegations for personal injury, serious bodily injury or even a fatality, E.J. Hubbs knows how to protect your rights. He is familiar with the tactics used by the Miami-Dade Police Department (MDPD) and other local law enforcement agencies.
E.J. Hubbs aggressively defend people charged with “hit and run” throughout the Greater Miami area. After an arrest for leaving the scene of a traffic crash in Miami-Dade County, attorney E.J. Hubbs represents clients throughout Kendale Lakes and Tamiami to the West and South Miami, Kendall, Homestead and Cutler Bay to the South, as well as communities North of Miami International Airport such as Hialeah and Miami Gardens.
The law is often unforgiving when you leave the scene. Giving a full confession may not be in your best interest. You can still make amends through your attorney and settle the criminal and civil issues under the best possible terms.
Don't make a statement until after you have retained an experienced criminal defense attorney for traffic crimes in Miami-Dade County, FL.
This article was last updated on Tuesday, March 21, 2017.