At the beginning of the month, Florida updated its felony theft threshold for the first time in 30 years. The new laws are the beginning of criminal justice reform to the state’s outdated laws.
The threshold for being charged with felony theft in Florida is now $750, rather than $300. Although reformers praise lawmakers for raising the threshold, they aimed at seeing it set at $1,000 or $1,500 at most.
However, retailers agreed on the $750 as a compromise since raising the threshold would encourage criminals to steal more valuable items. Keep in mind, stealing an item that costs less than $750 is still a misdemeanor offense, punishable by a maximum jail term of one year.
The new threshold is still the lowest in the south eastern United States. The felony theft threshold in states like Georgia, Alabama, and South Carolina is over $1,200.
Whether you have been recently charged with felony theft or you have a loved one currently serving prison time for felony theft, our legal team at Hubbs Law, P.A. can help you get the most favorable outcome possible to avoid jail or prison time or seek resentencing for your loved one. With thousands of cases successfully handled on behalf of our clients, we understand what it takes to protect your rights and future.
For more information about the new law, contact us at (305) 570-4802 and request a free case review today.
Please note that by reading this blog you are not entering into an attorney-client relationship with Hubbs Law, P.A. This blog only provides general legal information. Every case is unique and you should request a consultation to ensure that you are getting the correct legal advice for your specific case.