PIP stands for “Personal Injury Protection”and is a type of insurance that every driver must have in the state of Florida. Florida law requires all drivers to carry a minimum of $10,000 in personal injury protection and $10,000 in property damage liability. In the event that you are in an accident, you can get up to $10,000 in coverage regardless if you were at fault. This is why PIP is also commonly referred to as Florida’s No Fault Insurance.
What steps do I need to take if I’m involved in an accident? First, call your insurance company. Notify them you were in an accident. However, do not make any statements regarding how the crash occurred. Only give the insurance company biographical information such as your name, date of birth, and the time and location of the accident. Second, if you were injured, immediately seek medical treatment. Under Florida law, individuals injured in car accidents have only 14 days to seek initial treatment from a medical provider. If treatment is sought after this time, your insurance company will not reimburse you. In addition, you may only be eligible for $2,500 in coverage, as opposed to $10,000. Finally, if you are injured in an accident call my office. I will take you step by step through the process and I have the experience to get you results.
Disclaimer: Please note that by reading this blog you are not entering into an attorney-client relationship with Hubbs Law, P.A. This blog only provides general legal information. Every case is different and you should request a free consultation to ensure that you are getting the correct legal advice for your specific case.
Please note that by reading this blog you are not entering into an attorney-client relationship with Hubbs Law, P.A. This blog only provides general legal information. Every case is unique and you should request a consultation to ensure that you are getting the correct legal advice for your specific case.