24/7 By Appointment Only

Misdemeanor & Felony Classes in Florida

If you have been arrested in Florida, you may be charged with either a misdemeanor or a felony. While felonies are more serious than misdemeanors, getting convicted of the latter can still lead to harsh criminal penalties, such as fines worth hundreds or thousands of dollars and/or even a lengthy jail sentence. 

The following are the misdemeanor classes in Florida: 

  • First-degree misdemeanor – A conviction carries a maximum jail term of one year and/or a fine of up to $1,000. 

  • Second-degree misdemeanor – A conviction is punishable by a jail sentence of up to 60 days and/or a maximum fine of $500. 

On the other hand, getting convicted of a felony can result in spending time in state prison—rather than a county or local jail—for more than one year. Furthermore, you could lose certain rights with a felony conviction on your criminal record, such as the right to own and possess a firearm and your voting rights. 

The felony classes in Florida include: 

  • Capital felony –A conviction can result in either the death penalty or a life sentence without the possibility of parole. 

  • Life felony – A conviction can lead to life imprisonment and/or a fine of up to $15,000. 

  • First-degree felony – A conviction carries a maximum prison term of 30 years and/or a fine of no more than $10,000. 

  • Second-degree felony – A conviction is punishable by a maximum prison sentence of 15 years and/or a fine not exceeding $10,000. 

  • Third-degree felony – A conviction can result in imprisonment for up to five years and/or a maximum fine of $5,000. 

When it comes to prior felony convictions, if you were previously convicted of at least two felonies and you are facing another felony within five years of the prior felony conviction or committed a felony while incarcerated, a conviction would result in being labeled a “habitual felony offender.” In many cases, getting convicted as a habitual felony offender will result in doubling the potential maximum sentence. 

For example, if you are not a habitual offender and you have been charged with a third-degree felony, a conviction may lead to a maximum prison term of five years. However, if you are a habitual offender, the maximum sentence may be 10 years. 

Florida also has enhanced sentencing statutes for “violent career criminals” and “prison releasee reoffenders.” 

Whether you are facing a misdemeanor or felony charge in Miami, look no further than our Miami legal team at Hubbs Law Firm today for experienced legal representation. Contact us today at (305) 570-4802 to discuss your case with our criminal defense lawyers! 

Categories

Speak with Our Attorneys

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.